Rachel Carson College Faculty Fellows

Sikina Jinnah

Sikina Jinnah is Rachel Carson College's new faculty chair!

The Chair of the Faculty is an Academic Senate member, other than the Provost, who is elected by the college Faculty to serve a two year term, and will serve as a member of the Executive Committee.

Dr. Jinnah is an Associate Professor in the Politics Department, an affiliated faculty member in the Environmental Studies Department, and a 2017 Andrew Carnegie Fellow. Her research focuses on the shifting locations of power and influence in global environmental governance, and in particular the role of transnational actors in environmental decision-making. Her most recent projects examine how key norms in global climate politics shape power relations, the role of U.S. preferential trade agreements in shaping environmental policy in trading partner nations, and the politics of climate engineering governance. 

David Lee
  • Title
    • Assistant Professor
  • Division Baskin School of Engineering
  • Department
    • Computational Media Department
  • Phone
  • Email
  • Website
  • Office Location
    • Jack Baskin Engineering Building, N/A
    • Engineering 2, Room 257
  • Mail Stop SOE3

Research Interests

  • Social computing
  • Crowdsourcing
  • Learning at scale
  • Computational social choice
  • Algorithmic economics
  • Human computer interaction
  • Artificial Intelligence

Biography, Education and Training

David T. Lee is an Assistant Professor of Computational Media at UC Santa Cruz. He received his PhD from Stanford University, where he was a part of the Society and Algorithms Lab and Crowdsourced Democracy Team, and his BS from the California Institute of Technology. His research integrates design, algorithms, and incentives to support experiential learning at scale and to support governments and nonprofits in organizing community mmebers towards addressing complex, societal issues. His work has received a paper award at AAAI HCOMP and ACM CHI, been published in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (PNAS), and deployed with the Finland Ministry of the Environment. He is a recipient of the NSF Graduate Research Fellowship, an Accel Innovation Scholar, a two-time recipient of a Magic Grant from the Brown Institute for Media Innovation, and a recipient of the Baskin School of Engineering Teaching Excellence Award.

Selected Publications